The U.S. State Department has ordered the departure of non-emergency personnel and their family members from the U.S. embassies and consulates in Israel, Kuwait and Syria. The countries on this list join those where departures have been authorized but not ordered: Bahrain, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey (Adana consulate only) and the United Arab Emirates. Further, both the U.S. and British governments have urged their citizens to leave Kuwait. Many airlines have suspended flights to the Middle East and Persian Gulf, including British Airways, Swiss International Air Lines, and Thai Airways.